RSS

Headlights…. in an artificial glow

14 Nov

Like on-coming headlights

in the night,  as we cruise by.

We can’t see the faces of the driver inside

just a blinding pair of lights passing us by

how many people do I bother seeing-

getting to know,

for more than where just where they go?

how many times  have I taken a second glance

from the road ahead, to the folks in it?

& ain’t it a little bit funny

how those red stoplights we hate slowin’ us down

are the only moments we take to look around?

maybe if we all stopped-

like a traffic jam

maybe if we all turned off the radios

& rolled down our windows instead-

I know it’d be revolutionary

A change I’ll probably will never see…

But still, it’s nice  to think

There’s more to life than racing to our ‘destiny’

So what’s a detour?

How would it be such a huge loss,

To halt & give directions

To a stranger, lost?

It’s dark outside

Flooded with an artificial glow…

Still, I ponder sometimes

If anyone else wants to know

Who I would see

If I could look past the headlights

Into the face behind the wheel?

If I could know who he is,

Where & why he’s driving past,

On this lonely dark night,

Lit by lonely oncoming headlights

or In this artificial glow… we really are alone.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2011 in introspective, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Headlights…. in an artificial glow

  1. lindsaym

    November 15, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    This is the price of modern technology, you don’t get to know who people really are, only what they put out for everyone to see. Driving gets you places faster but creates such a sense of anonymity, which your poem addresses. Keep up the good work! This is a wonderful poem that should make people think.

     
  2. E-bike

    November 17, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    I was suggested this blog by way of my cousin. Im no longer certain whether or not this put up is written by him as nobody else realize such detailed about my trouble. Youre fantastic! Thanks!

     
    • unwrittentruth

      November 17, 2011 at 10:33 pm

      Thank you so much for your compliment, & I guarantee I’m not your cousin. Thanks again for visiting my site. i appreciate it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
