RSS

Bottle Tossed in the Ocean

23 Nov

There’s a bottle tossed in the ocean
My heart is the note inside
Seeing destruction & storms all around me
But safe in my own little life

I wrote a plea for help
& desperately corked myself in
knowing my only chance to find it
would be a life or death risk

& the winds rage
& the moon casts spells,
the lightning strikes
& storms swell

the dolphins leap
& the waves roar
till my bottle is hurled
onto a jagged shore

gripped by the clutches of shells & rocks
held captive at the mercy of the sea
….here it rests, & here I wait
for someone to come find & rescue me.

From my crevice, looking out-
I’ve seen so many sights & scenes.
My sighs are lost amid the ocean’s roar
I just hope someday, someone sees

Someone climbing & scaling
Will see me stuck in the cliff
& uncorking the bottle unroll,
& read the message my heart has bled
onto that sacred scroll

oh, climber, oh fisher, oh man of the cliffs
oh fighter, oh hunter, oh whoever he is
please read & understand my heart’s message
& if you can, please, deliver it

deliver it to whom it might concern
deliver it to where the answer lies;
then tell him to find a ship & set sail
to where my empty body tries

where I try to live each day for you
remaining loyal, remaining true
as I try to stay pure so that when you arrive
I have everything to offer you; or, so my empty body tries

Someday my heart will be read & set free
Someday, my beloved will come to me
Someday, oh someday, I will no longer be
In a lonely bottle, tossed in the sea.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Bottle Tossed in the Ocean

  1. T Scott

    November 23, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    This was a nice read

     
  2. Glitterati

    November 24, 2011 at 1:23 am

    Absolutely beautiful!

     
  3. suzannagoretti

    November 27, 2011 at 1:45 am

    This metaphor is the most incredible illustration of a woman’s wait…the agony…how tossed we are by the storms….I can’t really even describe how much I like this, but I can SEE it….and the metaphor WORKS so well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
