RSS

don’t end up like me…

29 Nov

First, they said to keep my head out of the clouds. So, i dove in & swam.
Then they told me come onto the land & put my feet on the solid ground, so i danced. Then they told me to stop moving & gather my surroundings. So I laid down, & fell asleep.
As i slept, I began to dream. . . dream that i was in the clouds again…they said ‘wake up’. but this time, i won’t.

I wrote this out of frustration one day, I actually feel my life is just like this… jumping through hoops trying to please everyone. But, I can honestly give you my word that YOU CAN NOT MAKE EVERYONE HAPPY! For a people-pleaser, like myself, this is aweful! I’m not a general people-pleaser, however, for those I care about & love, i would do anything to make them happy. Even to the extent of giving up college, life ambitions, & moving around the country. It’s about time for me to quit this & just figure out what I want & do that. Because, I’ve spent so long trying to figure out how to make all my big family, many friends, & mentors proud, that I lost my own sense of self. My own dreams.

I’m living, looking for an opportunity to help make someone else’s dream come true! Even with love, it’s like, i just want to be the girl of some guys dreams.. I mean, talk about dreamless & sad… MY ONLY DREAM is MAKING EVERYONE ELSE’S DREAMS COME TRUE! Which is sweet & all… but, baby, trust me. Go to sleep, get a dream, wake up & live it. live your life, inspired from within. take it from me, it’s tough living if you’re going no where…

you can’t make everyone happy… in the end you are the only one who HAS to live with what you’ve done… & you’re the only one who GETS to.

I’m not trying to be preachy here, i just really hope you don’t end up like me.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2011 in Decisions, explore, introspective, life, travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “don’t end up like me…

  1. Michael

    November 29, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    Nice post. You are always better being yourself. Thanks for your visit. Warmest Wishes. !!!

     
  2. jmgoyder

    November 29, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    I know what you mean by a heart screaming.

     
  3. glittertheair

    November 29, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    I am always trying to please my family but I do it in a way that I can please myself as well so we come to a compromise. At the moment this works for us but I know that this isn’t going to always be the case, and they know that as well. You are right, you cannot make everybody happy at times and this is just part of life. I hope it works out for you 😉

     

Leave a comment