RSS

The closest I ever got

29 Nov

They told me to get over you
& they told me to face the truth
but our love had been the only truth,
that I had ever thought I knew…

Now a couple years down the road,
I really have moved on….
Don’t really miss you any more,
or wonder where you’ve gone…

but sometimes…

when I’m lost in my mind & at a red light,
channel-flipping for a song i like,
I stop on a song I’ve over-played
but for some reason, I pull my hand away…

& sing that song again…
remembering what has been…

It’s not that i love you,
or that I ever did;
but you are the closest,
I ever got to it.

& I don’t miss us,
wouldn’t take you back
but it’s nice to at least pretend
I had a love in the past…

All these girls tell their stories
about falling in love,
having their hearts broken
and finding “the one”…

& i just wish i could relate
to ever caring enough
to have my heart break…

I’m not apathetic to feeling
& I’m not afraid of him leaving me
I just wish that all the songs I sing,
i could sing about somebody…

I feel the emptiness & longing
but it’s not a hole some guy left…
This void and hungry yearning
is for someone I haven’t met yet…

I’m gunna pretend we mutually cared, …
even though I know it was not legit..
& I’ll think of you when I sing about love,
because you’re the closest I ever got to it.

written: January 25, 2011

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The closest I ever got

  1. anselmking

    November 29, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    –Thank you for sharing such hidden, precious feelings.–

     
  2. diciembrenieve

    November 30, 2011 at 6:03 am

    I can totally relate to this. And its very beautiful. I’ve added you to my follow list mostly because you have a true gift and i love reading what you write.

     
  3. Federico Garduno

    December 13, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    Great post!

     

Leave a Reply

 
