RSS

The greatest discovery

08 Dec

The greatest discovery
not all people will ever find,-
is that we are not here alone,
There is a purpose outside

That calling we sense
beyond our own desire
That sets souls ablaze
like a massive wild fire…

Nothing is scarier
than realizing no one is there
nothing is more awful than
when there’s nobody to care…

Do you honestly believe,
this is all there is to life?
Can you seriously tell me,
There is only chaos in this fight?

I think not…i sense more…
& with a heart that’s tainted & worn..
There must be more to live for,
I am not totally forlorn…

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “The greatest discovery

  1. 4valentines4words4poetry4you

    December 8, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    very well written poem such a joy to read a lot of feeling shown in your words well done from kevin.

     
  2. anselmking

    December 11, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    –Have you ever had an out of body experience?–

     
    • unwrittentruth

      December 12, 2011 at 1:13 am

      yes, but I was in 5th grade at the time….i wish i had been older & recorded it better. It also wasn’t too elaborate… it’s funny, cuz it probably only lasted 15-30 seconds… but it felt like longer watching myself…

      I went to the nurse with a finger bleed… watching the blood, i fell unconscious. I saw myself below me. i watched the nurse shriek & run the intercom to call for my parents (it was a small town, & my mom volunteered at the school a lot. including that day.) I thought i was dreaming at first. then i realized i was floating. i wanted to try to fly around (hey, i was in 5th grade), but then realized, no, i had to go back. I remember feeling kinda bummed, cuz i knew that my finger was really gunna hurt & probably my head too. I also was a tomboy & knew that was going to be tough. & i remember my little 10 year old mind coming to an extra-ordinary conclusion: it was worth it. it was worth the pain. when i saw my mom running in, i realized, i better wake up before they… idk what. haha it was almost like, i was afraid my mom was going to be mad at me for floating around. haha. also, i wanted to hug her, she looked so shook up.

      When i came to on the ground i heard ringing & saw blackness, then blurriness that expanded & focused from the center out. it took me a minute or two to remember everything. & a couple more minutes to remember the out of body part. My head did hurt, so did my finger, & so did my knee actually. but i remember hugging my mom & feeling like i made the right choice. idk what other choice i thought i had had… but that’s the extent of that one.

      why?

       
      • unwrittentruth

        December 12, 2011 at 1:28 am

        (with the being tomboy thing-i was so embarrassed to have fainted at the sight of blood. i thought only one of the other girly girls would have done that. lol. )

         
      • anselmking

        December 15, 2011 at 3:58 pm

        –Sorry it’s taken me a while to reply back. (I’m not used to having to back-track to find out a reply was made.) This piece you wrote made me think about my own out of body experiences—while reading I couldn’t help but think you’ve experienced it yourself for some reason. Even if that has nothing to do with what you’ve written. It just made me curious. Thanks for the great explanation–very fun/interesting to read.–

         

Leave a Reply

 
