RSS

If I were a shoe…

27 Dec

If I were a shoe,
I’d be your summer pair
of flip-flops that you wear
just about everywhere…

And then when seasons change,
you’d just slip me off with ease
and replace me with something
sturdier & warmer with strings..

I’m really great in the heat,
And I hold up fine for the short-term
Fun for pool parties & lakes,
But I guess I ain’t the kind for long-term…

I’m not hiking boots or heels,
I”m not moccasins & soft…
I’m not all convertible like Crocs,
in the end, i’m just a flip-flop…

nothing worth fighting for…
nothing worth more than ten bucks..
but if you looked a little closer,
im that perfect fitting Rainbows you trust…

Honey, some pairs of flip-flops can last you years
& some summers you want to last forever…
So, I may be kinda cold, but you can wear me in winter…
Some flip-flops, like me, always find a way to endeavor..

But, go get your fancy new boots…
go get your comfy sneakers,
go get your warm & fuzzies…
but without me, you’ll always be a seeker…

So, i see you through the hot water, i see you through the fun smiles…

but in the end, I’m just a worn out flip-flop, so i guess I’m out of style…

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “If I were a shoe…

  1. blessmylove

    December 28, 2011 at 3:21 am

    “Hey… I just passed on the Versatile Blogger Award to you…. Loved your writings..Hope you are happy and a cute smile is decorating your face.”

     
  2. thepoeticgoblin

    December 28, 2011 at 8:15 am

    Really nice & lovely analogy! 🙂

     
  3. lindsaym

    December 29, 2011 at 2:25 am

    I love this!! Another great hit. That’s a very interesting perspective on relationships. I bet you’re not “out of style” though. : )

     

Leave a Reply

 
