RSS

Live life all the way around…

04 Jan

A moonstone chandelier
& a brass painted stallion on wood
I stared around in wonder, trying,
to absorb into recall all that I could

Tea time with fine china
& ginger-like German cakes
This 22 year old girl sat in awe
of all the stories they say…

I’ve grown fond of these neighbors
as, I know they’ve grown fond of me,
& she tells me about German traditions
and travelling over many a sea…

a wonderful full life,
she’s lived the circle round,
& now she loves to share the wisdom
and show off the treasures she’s found….

He prefers to simply nod now & then,
or raise an eyebrow in obvious doubt
But I guess I would be doing the same thing,
if I was married to the best speaker in town…

She steals the stage with
her royal, fairytale grace
And he’s there with his arm around her
every step along the way…

As we sip our hot cocoa
& she tells me about places i can’t pronounce,
I hope someday I should too,
have had such an adventure to brag about

I don’t mean an adventure for a week
but an adventure that lasts all my life ’round,
until, I too, am ready to move to a small town
& find some girl to pass my wisdom down…

©Lilyanna Danielovitch 2012

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Live life all the way around…

  1. doorinthesoul

    January 4, 2012 at 11:06 am

    Sweet!

     
  2. Gabby Angel

    January 4, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    This was so well written and I enjoyed reading it! Just a lovely poem! 🙂

     
  3. rayonstylis

    January 4, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    beautiful work. x

     

Leave a Reply

 
