RSS

beyond feelings

09 Jan

Do what you don’t feel like,
if you want to make it through;
because sometimes our instincts,
aren’t the best thing we should do.

So, if you feel like sleeping all day
Fight that with your life,
wake up early, or at least by 8,
& do something with your time….

If you feel like drinking,
drinking away your pain,
then go fill your glass with water,
& go for a jog in the hot rain…

if you feel like reclusing,
don’t want to talk to anyone…
then get dressed up & go out,
with some friends to do something fun…

There is a power that lies
in over-ruling what we ‘feel like’,
It’s that power over my self,
that I have fought for all my life.
I

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “beyond feelings

  1. Gabby Angel

    January 9, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    This is such a good one! So well written and ringing with such wisdom! Very well done again. 🙂

     
  2. glittertheair

    January 9, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    I really like this one. I am someone who sleeps all day but lately I have been going to bed early and waking up very early. I can’t really remember the last time I have seen so much daylight. There have also been many times where I haven’t felt like going out, sometimes my instincts have been right and I should have just stayed at home while other times it has been great to get out. So, I can really identify with this one. Well done!

     
  3. doorinthesoul

    January 10, 2012 at 11:11 am

    Really nice!

     
  4. reverendhellfire

    January 10, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    Someone once said, “if its’s hard by the yard, its a cinch by the inch.” Dig it.

     
  5. anselmking

    January 13, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    –I can very much relate to this. I used to be the kind of person that would always sleep in late, then get up in an irritated mood because I was wasting the day. Be lazy, antisocial and waste precious time I could have spent doing something constructive. Bad diet for awhile– etc, etc. But lately I’ve been getting up at 5:30 and 6 a.m. I’ve never willingly gotten up that early ever in my life. I feel more energized and positive, eating well and drinking lots of water. What you say is true—it can resonate with anyone.–

     

Leave a Reply

 
