RSS

fire & water

14 Jan

Cornered into a wall
by my own anger & hate
i do not wish to speak,
i don’t want to join in play…

I want to get out.
i want to burn this bridge…
Heaven help me hold my tongue
& refrain from all of this!…

i don’t know where to go,
i have no money left to spend
i wish to wash it all away
i wish to flood my heart within…

loving, loosing,
anger hurts,
trusting, hoping,
now i’m burnt…

Oh Lord of all,
i beseech thee, i pray,
put my spirit in a strait-suit
so that i might obey.

But God has His own way,
He never fights fire with fire,
He pours the water of life,
& gives me rest as I tire…

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “fire & water

  1. Uncle Tree

    January 14, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    It is a battle of opposites. Do not despair,
    Love, hope, and faith are gaining the upper hand!

    We have to believe that. Don’t we?
    Rest assured, Lilyanna. (cute name 🙂

    Hanging with The Prince Of Peace, I am.
    Uncle Tree

     
  2. 4valentines4words4poetry4you

    January 14, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    a lovely poem with feeling and imagination great work.

     
  3. Eric Alagan

    January 14, 2012 at 10:19 pm

    You are right, God never fights. He loves…and that can be overpowering. Peace, Eric

     

Leave a Reply

 
