RSS

when i said ‘love’ i didn’t know…

29 Apr

Because when I said I loved you,
I didn’t really know…
how much that would cost,
and how far it would force me to go…

And when you said you loved me,
I didn’t know how much control I’d lose,
I didn’t realize just how many hours
I’d spend staring into space, missing you…

And when I look at the cost of the future,
and the genuine commitment it will take,
I scare myself to death and tell myself ‘no’,
but then, I look at your face….

and I didn’t know it back then,
but saying I was in love was a lie…
because back then, wasn’t now…
I had no idea what would bloom with time…

Because nothing short of this could be love.
I will never let you go, or run away…
I shall never find another man whom i totally trust.
I love you now, so I know that wasn’t love yesterday.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “when i said ‘love’ i didn’t know…

  1. Gabby Angel

    April 29, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    It’s such a heartfelt poem, just beautiful and your love for KF is going strong I see, Yay! 🙂 We had missed you for a couple weeks, happy to know it wasn’t any troubles between you and your love. Hugs, Gabby 🙂

     
  2. greatpoetrymhf

    May 3, 2012 at 1:31 am

    Reblogged this on Greatpoetrymhf’s Weblog.

     

Leave a Reply

 
