RSS

source of strength outside myself

05 May

Let me tell you the truth
I’m not as strong as I seem.
In fact most of the strength I have,
doesn’t even come from within me…

But that’s the beauty of hope,
it’s the beauty of the cross,
it’s the beauty of the rainbow,
it’s the beauty of giving it up to God…

And let me admit I mess up,
I am as human as human can be…
But that is no excuse to quit,
and I shall never stop my trying…

to be bigger & better than I am.
to purge myself out of my life…
all the selfish desires & thoughts
and ignore any bitterness & lies…

Because fate is good to the fearless,
because hope burns brightest in the dark,
because love proves to strength in itself,
and I have an ever chasing heart…

I shall always chase that gold at the end of the rainbow,
chase that dream beyond what I’m qualified for,
and I must know that you will do the same for us,
and that together we can become so much greater & more…

May it ever burn on,
sure it hurts, but it’s bright.
we can do this, we can make it…
have faith, & believe in the power of one life.

.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “source of strength outside myself

  1. Da Absentee

    May 7, 2012 at 2:29 am

    I like this one! BUT I don’t think the last 2 verses are needed. You seemed to have one topic locked then the last 2 you drifted. I dont know if it was intentional “as in” thats the point you had intended writing to in the first place.

     
    • unwrittentruth

      May 8, 2012 at 9:39 am

      hm, interesting… do you think if i separated the last two verses, they could stand as a separate poem of their own? i definitely see what you mean, as i re-read it. but i’ve made the fatal poet mistake in falling too in love with one of my verses (the second last), even though it doesn’t really fit…

       
      • Da Absentee

        May 8, 2012 at 12:37 pm

        of course steal those last 2 stanzas and use them in another one. the last one is a great closing. So use the first one as your prompt and the second as your close.

         
      • unwrittentruth

        May 8, 2012 at 10:32 pm

        challenge accepted! lol

         
      • Da Absentee

        May 10, 2012 at 12:30 am

        can’t wait to see it 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
