RSS

love like summer rain….

05 Jun

Nothin’ new going on in this small town
‘cept a rumor made up by some girls…
it’ll make it’s way round then fall out…
as people realize it don’t change the world…

lights turn off & lights turn on at the same hours
each night, in each house, in each room…
everybody got their routine down to a T…
except me, and my every changing life tune…

& i’m pretty sure they all think i’m kinda crazy.
but they love me like a crazy summer lightning-storm…
and they may think i’m sweet like a rose,
though, believe me, they can all tell you bout my thorns…

but mostly, they say quirky is just fine…
and they hope i can settle down & love the views.
just be at peace & learn to be happy….
learn to live years with out need of changing news…

I could tell you everything they’d say, i’m sure…
but you don’t really care what they think anyway…
you promise me that the future with you there,
will give happiness a new meaning, a new name…

I really think i could someday belong here…
I’d learn to roll my windows up & turn the volume down,
maybe I could even have a daily time i turn my lights out,
but without you, i could never truly be happy in this small town.

because what’s life without love?
it could be any, any life at all…
i could be sitting in the beaches of hawaii,
and i’d still be hoping for you to call…

i love you too much, i’m sure.
so much, that no one else could ever take your place.
no one else, & nothing else,
…not even a whole town, loving me like a hot summer rain.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “love like summer rain….

  1. unwrittentruth

    June 5, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    read through the last verse!… possibly one of my favorite endings i’ve ever written. =)

     
  2. evenwhenirun

    June 5, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    Reblogged this on my past is there…. and commented:
    LIKE!

     
  3. thesubterraneanworld

    June 6, 2012 at 3:48 pm

    Hey ya,
    I have nominated you for “Mrs. Sparkly’s Ten Commandments Award”
    For further details, follow the link,

    http://thesubterraneanworld.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/season-of-love-shower-of-awards/

    Congratulations!
    -Naima.

     
  4. cloxdaabsentee

    June 16, 2012 at 6:58 am

    The last 2 are on point with delivery. I adore the double meaning of the last line too.

     
    • unwrittentruth

      June 17, 2012 at 8:05 pm

      you are such an amazing commenter! thank you for the feedback, it really helps

       

Leave a Reply

 
