RSS

becomming an evacuee

28 Jun

Day 1-
“Oh my gosh, how awful!
The smoke is hurting my eyes,
did they really need to close the highway?
I’ll have to postpone my shopping time.”

Day 2-
“um, the fire is still burning,
& it’s billowing sheets of smoke our way…
Staying glued to the news, alarming,
but grateful it isn’t us at least today…”

Day 3-
Now we are on pre-evacuation,
but I doubt it will ever come this close,
I guess decide what you would pack,
but we probably won’t actually have to go…”

Day 4-
I guess we should make plans to go tomorrow
and all of a sudden that red line on the map
is within 1.5 miles of our home & my bed,
But now i am too much in shock to pack…

Day 5-
the sherrif rings our doorbell
informs us we have 1 hour to get out…
Groceries, towels, journals, heirlooms,
are all stuffed in as fireman’s voices shout…

I look over the hill as we drive…
I can see the flames just over the trees…
I’ve seen this before in movies…
but it wasn’t my home, my life on the brink of burning…

TODAY-
evacuated. scared.
helpless & afraid.
thankful for life, but, how do you live
when everything in your life is at stake?

My work is evacuated,
we have nothing to do but wait…
our house may be fine,
or my carload, may be all that’s saved…

God help all of us here,
all those in Colorado & the west today…
dear bloggers if you have a moment,
please send a prayer our way

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “becomming an evacuee

  1. Gabby Angel

    June 28, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    Keeping you, your family and all those in this terrible situation in my prayers!

     
  2. Francois Bergh

    June 30, 2012 at 1:46 am

    Hope you’re all safe!

     
  3. unwrittentruth

    July 5, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    thank you… they are still working on that fire, but thanks to it becoming a class I fire, worse in the USA, it has more personnel, equipment & are getting it under control. We are finally home again ❤

     
  4. cloxdaabsentee

    October 7, 2012 at 2:28 am

    I couldnt believe how long those fires kept burning around our way. glad to see that you are ok and finally getting back into a groove since it happened.

     
  5. suzannagoretti

    November 7, 2012 at 9:40 am

    What a scary time. God bless you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
