RSS

I used to know everything…

30 Oct

I used to know everything
I used to be wise…
I used to find little ways
To wink & improvise…

The big stuff didn’t seems so bad
& the drama didn’t get to me
I used to understand what he meant
& how to turn it back to wanting me…

i used to feel so beautiful,
when the sunshine hit my faced
I would dance along a sidewalk,
And wave if a stranger looked my way….

And now aged beyond my years,
And feeling worn out, old, & used
I look around at what made sense then,
& I just feel so darn confused…

because if what you claim is love,
tied with strings, ‘ifs’ ‘ands’ and ‘buts’…
then honestly, sign me away…
i’m just too tired & I’m done…

I just can’t always be the bright one
I used all my energy to bring you back to life
And you say you are so in love with me,
But I’m too exhausted to bother with a lie…

& if this was who I used to be,
i would find a way to work this out,
but I’m just too tired to care,
I’m sorry, but this is over now…

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “I used to know everything…

  1. suzannagoretti

    November 7, 2012 at 9:26 am

    This one is so melancholy, but I like that there is a bittersweet hope, like in saying goodbye you will shed that suffering part of you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
